International women’s day!

-8th March 2015-

As today is a day dedicated to women all over the world, I want to dedicate this one to a very special someone.

My love, life and soul.

My dearest and nearest.

My friend and my mother.

To the lady that carried me for 9months, and then took care of me for the next 19 years, I owe you my whole life, nothing I do will ever compare to the amount of love and mercy you have given me over the years.

It was you who took care of me during the late hours of the night when I’d crawl out of bed and into yours. It was you who woke me during the early hours of the morning to get me ready for school – it was your dream to see me grow up educated. It was you who attended my school plays and it was you who gave life to me.

I am grateful, eternally grateful.

Thank-you.

Yours truly,

Your loving daughter x

(Abdullah Ibn Abbâs (may Allah be pleased with him) (d. 687CE), a companions of the Holy Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) and a great scholar of Islam, considered kind treatment of one’s mother to be the best deed for strengthening or rectifying one’s relation with Allah. He said:

“I know of no other deed that brings people closer to Allah than kind treatment and respect towards one’s mother.”[Al-Adab al-Mufrad Bukhârî 1/45])

May Allah swt grant you the highest levels of Jannah, may the gates of paradise whisper your name and call for you. May I see your smile forever and always. Ameen.

I love you mama.

Leave a comment